

## **TEXAS BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL GEOSCIENTISTS**

P.O. Box 13225 • Austin, Texas 78711 • (512) 936-4400 • fax (512) 936-4409 Website: www.tbpg.state.tx.us

## **Continuing Education Requirements for Pro-rated Renewal Periods**

- 1. A new Professional Geoscientist (P.G.) license is always issued for a period of one year from the date of issuance, plus the remaining days until the end of the month.
- 2. On the first renewal of a P.G. license, the licensure period is set for a period of no less than 4 months and no greater than 15 months, so that every license will expire at the end of the licensee's birth month. The fee for the first renewal is pro-rated so that the licensee pays only for the number of months for which the license is renewed. Once a license expiration date has been set to coincide with the end of the Professional Geoscientist's birth month, license periods for every subsequent renewal will be one year.
- 3. Because the first licensing period is always set for a full year, the continuing education required for the first renewal is the full 15 hours (including one hour in the area of professional ethics, roles and responsibilities of Professional Geoscientists or review on-line of the Texas Geoscience Practice Act and Board rules), unless the new licensee was licensed by any part of the required licensing examinations.
- 4. The continuing education activity required for the next (second) renewal is pro-rated such that the licensee is required to complete either all or a portion of the continuing education requirement, according to the length of the licensee's second licensure period. The table below shows the pro-rated number of continuing education activity hours (Professional Development Hours or PDHs) that are required upon the second renewal. Please note that licenses that are renewed for 12 or more months require the full amount of continuing education Professional Development Hours (PDHs).
- 5. Certification as a Geoscientist-in-Training (GIT) is set for one year initially. Expiration dates for GIT certification are not set to coincide with the GIT's birth month and are always set for a period of one year. Therefore, GIT licensure periods, fees, and continuing education requirements are never pro-rated.

Months	# / 12	(%) of a	PDHs	% of a year's
	months	year	required	requirement
4	4/12	33%	5 / 15	33%
5	5/12	41.6%	6/15	40%
6	6/12	50%	7/15	46.6%
7	7/12	58.3%	8/15	53.3%
8	8/12	66.6%	10/15	66.6%
9	9/12	75%	11/15	73.3%
10	10/12	83.3%	12/15	80%
11	11/12	91.6%	13/15	86.6%
12	12/12	100%	15/15	100%
13	13/12	1.08%	15/15	100%
14	14/12	1.16	15/15	100%
15	15/12	1.25	15/15	100%

<sup>\*</sup>Please also note that one hour in the area of professional ethics, roles and responsibilities of Professional Geoscientists or review on-line of the Texas Geoscience Practice Act and Board rules is required no matter how many (or few) hours are required for the second Professional Geoscientist license renewal.