General Program Requirements
The Continuing Education Program requires P.G. license holders and GIT certificants to participate in continuing education (CE) activities in order to maintain their license or certification.
For P.G. license holders, the CE program requires 15 hours of continuing education activities annually, with one of those hours being in the area of Professional Ethics, roles and responsibilities of Professional Geoscientists, or review online of the Texas Geoscience Practice Act and TBPG rules. For GIT certificants, the CE program requires 8 hours of continuing education activities annually, with one of those hours being in the area of Professional Ethics, roles and responsibilities of Professional Geoscientists, or review online of the Texas Geoscience Practice Act and TBPG rules.
Renewing a License or Certification
To renew a P.G. license, licensees are required to certify completion of the annual requirement of 15 hours of CE activities. To renew a GIT certification, certificants are required to certify completion of the annual requirement of 8 hours of CE activities.
First Renewal of a P.G. License
On the first renewal of a P.G. license, the licensure period is set for a period of no less than four months and no greater than fifteen months, so that every license will expire at the end of the licensee’s birth month. For the pro-rated renewal period, renewal fees and CE requirements will be pro-rated proportionally. More specific information about CE requirements for pro-rated renewals can be found here: CE Requirements for Pro-rated Renewal Periods
License periods for every subsequent renewal will be for one year.
Proof of CE Activities
All P.G. license holders and GIT certificants are required to keep a completed Continuing Education Activity Log of their CE activities and must maintain all documentation of having completed those activities in the case of a random audit.
Carryover of CE Hours
Any CE hours accrued over the annual requirement may be carried forward into subsequent renewal periods (a maximum of 30 hours can be carried over).
Guidance Regarding Qualifying CE Activities
Qualifying CE activities…
“have a clear purpose and objective which will maintain, improve, or expand the skills and knowledge relevant to the license holder’s field of practice.” -Rule 851.32 (a)(4)
Qualifying CE activities also…
“shall be relevant to the practice of a discipline of geoscience and may include technical, ethical, or managerial content.” -Rule 851.32(g)
For some specific continuing education opportunities, please visit our CE Opportunities page. Additionally, TBPG’s Resources page provides links to professional organizations, which may also offer education opportunities.
A minimum of one hour of Professional Ethics is required for license renewal. There are many ways to obtain hours in Professional Ethics, but here are four options:
- TBPG has an Ethics Video (free) available from the TBPG website that may be used to satisfy the requirement
- AAPG Ethics Video – from American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Division of Professional Affairs
- Any type of education in the area of professional ethics, or roles and responsibilities of Professional Geoscientists
- Reviewing of the Texas Geoscience Practice Act and Board Rules available on the TBPG website – TBPG Rule 851.32 (d)