President Elected of AAPG’s Energy Minerals Division

HOUSTON – Mr. Michael D. Campbell, a Professional Geoscientist in Texas, was elected President of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists’ Energy Minerals Division (EMD) for 2010-2011.

Mr. Campbell, a Professional Geoscientist and Hydrogeologist, serves as Managing Partner for the consulting firm, M. D. Campbell and Associates, L.P. based in Houston, Texas. He graduated from The Ohio State University in Geology and Hydrogeology, and from Rice University in Geology and Geophysics, and was elected a Fellow in the Geological Society of America. A member of American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) since 1972, he was a Founding Member of the Energy Minerals Division of AAPG, and presently serves as Chairman of the Uranium Committee. He also serves on the AAPG’s Division of Environmental Geosciences (DEG)’s Advisory Board representing the Gulf Coast Section, and was appointed to AAPG’s newest committee, the Astrogeology Committee.

Mr. Campbell has a strong background in corporate and technical management of projects within major international engineering and mining companies. He founded the Research Facility of the NWWA (now called the National Ground Water Association) in Columbus, Ohio and served as its first Director of Research. He has served in a consulting role on a wide variety of environmental, mining, and geotechnical projects and has over 40 years of mining, minerals and environmental project experience.

He has published books on uranium and other natural resources, and numerous associated reports, technical papers, and presentations. He is a Licensed Professional Geoscientist in Texas, Washington, Alaska, Wyoming, and Mississippi, and is nationally certified as a Professional Geologist and Professional Hydrogeologist. He is also a long-time member of AEG and has served as the Chairman of the Internet Committees, Texas Section of AIPG and AEG and Co-Editor for both of the professional societies’ websites.

Mr. Campbell has been licensed by the Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists since 2003.

© Copyright 2013-2022 - TBPG (Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists)